New season

It’s funny how time flies when you’re having fun – and how slowly it goes when you’re not. This pregnancy has been flying by and I can’t believe I’m in the final countdown to my due date, less than 10 weeks left. I’ve been feeling great until recently and despite people telling me to slow down and take it easy, I’ve just been having too much fun. Besides, there’s always so much more to do. More stuff to do with the kids, more admin, more household chores, more pictures to be taken and edited…

I had photo shoots booked every weekend until the end of this month and even though I’ve decided to stop taking bookings after October, I think I could’ve been persuaded into another one or two if there was a need. I had no real intention of slowing down until I woke up with bad back ache this past Friday. Thankfully, both kids were in nursery, so I somehow carried on with my errands in midst of all the pain. Things improved by the afternoon and I thought it was just a one off thing. Then on Saturday at 5 am I woke up with the worst back pain. I didn’t know what to do with myself, I certainly couldn’t sleep. I tried to find a somehow comfortable position and realised that it hurts no matter how I turn. My husband woke up when I started pacing around the room, slightly delirious with pain. At that point I was scared – I wasn’t sure anymore if I was just experiencing bad back pain or I was actually going into labour. All I could think of was whether the baby would be fine if born at 30 weeks and how could this happen on the morning of Samuel’s birthday party. What kind of mum messes up her kid’s birthday party?!? He was so looking forward to it and since the chicken pox haven’t interfered (Lara had them a week ago and Samuel is yet to get them), nor should I. In my head I was making alternative plans just in case – how I would take a cab to the hospital if I had to go there while William could take the kids to the party… you know, just the usual things that go through a woman’s mind in such a situation.

I took some pain killers and by 9am the pain subsided a bit and I decided that I probably wasn’t going into labour – or that the baby could wait at least until the end of Samuel’s birthday party. So we got everyone ready and drove to the soft play where we had the party organised. I will be forever grateful to my husband who wisely insisted that we have the party organised somewhere rather than held at our home. I don’t think I’d be able to pull it off if I had to organise everything by myself. This way at least all we had to do was show up with the cake and the kids and I was able to just sit through the party and grind my teeth pretending I wasn’t in a lot of pain. The birthday boy had a great time and that’s what matters.

Once the party was over and we came back home the kids went to bed for an afternoon nap and I went to the hospital – just to have things checked out. The good news is that nothing looked like I would be going into labour soon. The bad news is that they couldn’t quite say why I was getting such bad back pain and there wasn’t much they could do about it. I got served with the usual pregnancy advice: “Put your feet up as much as you can and rest!” They always forget to tell you what you should do with your other kids while you’re just sitting down and resting…

My pain has got a bit more under control since then although it hasn’t gone away completely. So I am being extra careful how I do things now considering that I want to make it to full term and I want to make it to full term mobile. It was with a very heavy heart that I had to cancel my last two photo shoots booked for the month, I so hoped that I could make it work somehow and finish this amazing season as planned. But my family and my health come before my work and in this state I couldn’t see myself running around the park for 2 hours with a big backpack on my back and my camera bouncing on my tummy. And if I can’t deliver 100%, I much rather refer people to someone else who can – or reschedule my sessions until after the baby.

So this is the end of my first business season as a photographer. It has been amazing, far better than I could ever imagine. Now I stop for a while, try and rest and here and there catch a personal moment on camera. I will still be posting on the blog but for the next few months it will mainly be personal stuff. A big thank you to all my amazing clients that have put their trust in me in this early stage, I have learnt so much thanks to you. And a big shout out to my husband – who happens to be celebrating his birthday today – who’s always been 100% behind me, believing in me and this business years before I ever did.

I am looking forward to the new season.

6 Comments on “New season

  1. Hugs to you Maja! Really sorry you’ve been in so much pain. Glad to hear you are taking it easy now. We feel so honoured and blessed to have been part of your journey starting out in business! We love all that you do! Xxx

    • Thank you Tanaka, I’m so glad that I could capture a great season in your life! Looking forward to more sessions. :*

  2. Hi Maja, you are a great mother. I know how painful it could be with the back pain at this stage of pregnancy. Wish you all the best and look forward to more beautiful pictures in next season. I also hope to be able to have a session with you next year.

  3. Hi dear Maja,

    you bravehearted woman! You have done so much and such great work and it feels so unfair that now you need to deal with pain! But I am so glad to see that you are taking this as best as possible and I think you have taken a really wise decision by taking it slowly.
    I love the personal pics above and I am very much looking forward to seeing more of it!
    Lots of hugs!!!!

    • Thank you Andrea, the pain has got much better since last weekend, thankfully. But I’ll definitely slow down in the next few weeks. Hugs back to Sweden! x

Leave a Reply

