The more I know, the worse I feel (sometimes).

Ever since I decided to dive into photography about a year ago I’ve been learning how to take better photos. How to work my camera, my subjects, the light, the environment, the post processing. Looking through my old posts I can see some improvement but the fact is that the more I learn, the worse I feel sometimes. Because with every new skill aquired, dozen more questions arise. And I can see that I am no where near where I want to be. And that’s frustrating. Because I’m a perfectionist. And because I’m not patient. In fact, I suck at being patient.

I’ve been looking through some of my recent blog posts and what I thought were great photos at the time of posting now make me cringe. I’ve had to resist the urge to delete some of those posts because I believe they should stay there as a reminder of how far I’ve come. We all learn along the way. I’ve also had an idea of re-editing a lot of those images but who has the time?! Besides they’re still treasured memories of a moment in time, no matter how technically lacking they might be. So they are staying.

Something I really need to work on is consistency. I feel like I’m still discovering my personal style, so I’m still playing with a lot of things. Which is ok. Playing is more than ok, it’s fun. That’s what I really like about photography – I don’t have to take it too seriously. I have fun. It’s a type of work where learning and practicing daily isn’t a chore, it’s fun. I try not to put any pressure on myself but just keep an open mind and keep my camera close by (and always charged) for when those right moments arise.

Here are some of the right moments that happened in our house over the past month. David is growing well and we just love him so much. I could squish him all the day long. He smiled for the first time this Sunday and I just about melted. The older two kids are super sweet with him, so I try and overlook the fact that they constantly keep teasing and annoying one another and that Lara couldn’t possibly get more stubborn (hello, wonderful twos). She started doing ballet and is loving it – along with the tutu that she gets to wear for her ballet class. We’re all pretty over this rain, it’s been pouring down since before Christmas and it shows no sign of stopping. But at least we’ve not been affected by floods unlike many other people living not too far from us.

In ten days we’ll be heading to Slovenia for a little family holiday and we’re so looking forward to it. When we’re back I might have more pictures to share… or I may not. As I said, I try not to put any pressure on myself. 😉

4 Comments on “The more I know, the worse I feel (sometimes).

  1. Photography, like life, is a journey! Just commit to doing one thing a day that will take you forward and you’ll be amazed how far you go. You’re doing great!

    • Thanks Jonny, I appreciate the advice and all your encouragement! With all the craziness at home right now, one day at the time is definitely the way to go… 😉

  2. I totally understand you. And let me tell you, you are so good and getting better with each post. I love to see you developing your own style. I am very proud! 🙂

Leave a Reply

