Maternity session: Becky

This session happened in two parts. I first met Becky, her husband Tom and two year old daughter Megan on Saturday. In less than a month they are expecting another little girl and we wanted to capture their last days with this precious bump. We’ve had amazing weather over the past few days, sunny and warm, and Saturday was no different. As we had agreed to meet at 5pm, I picked a nice shady spot in the park since the sun at that time can still be fairly strong. But just minutes before out session it turned really overcast and my ideal location suddenly didn’t produce the images that I was after. We still made it work and I do love the pictures we got but I would be lying if I said I wasn’t just a little disappointed.

On Sunday, a day after our session, the weather was even more amazing. Clear blue skies all day and it truly felt like summer had arrived. As I drove back from church with my family in the late afternoon, I was looking through the window and the light outside was so beautiful. I was literally on the edge of my seat and all I could think of was how much I wanted to go photograph something. Someone. I made a suggestion to hubby that we go to the park. At 6pm, with three tired kids who haven’t had dinner yet. I knew that it was a bad idea before it even came out of my mouth but I just really wanted to be outside. My amazing hubby then suggested that I find another victim to photograph and I immediately thought of Becky. I sent her a message, asking if she would fancy having some more photos taken during the golden hour and she was keen, so we met back in the park right after hubby and I put the kids to bed.

It was just glorious. The light was golden, the park nearly empty. I totally understand why people with young children don’t want to book sessions that late in the day but boy how I wish I could have more sessions just before the sunset. Thank you so much Becky for indulging me! Can’t wait to meet your baby girl!

Leave a Reply

