Engagement session: R + T

I love weddings. The organising, attention to detail, the prettiness, all the different emotions on the day. I always love attending as a guest (especially if I can avoid taking the kids, so I can actually focus on the wedding rather than chase the kids around all day) and photographing a wedding was definitely on my bucket list. But I’m a perfectionist and photographing a wedding is such an important job. There are no do-overs. No second chances. You have to know your stuff and be ready to catch those fleeting moments, so that the bride and groom can look over the photos for years to come and remember their special day with fondness.

I’m a big believer that the couple should invest in a good wedding photographer. You spend so much time, money and effort organising your wedding and all that is left afterwards are the photos. And I know first hand that on the day you are caught up in all the emotions, full of adrenalin and you often miss little moments that are happening in the background. A good photographer should be able to capture those, so that you can have a full picture of your wedding day.

Am I ready to be such a photographer? I’m not sure. In my head, I know exactly how I would like to capture a wedding and I set high standards for myself. I always have. And the fear of falling short often keeps me away from stepping up to the job. Thankfully I have family and friends who seem to believe in me more than I believe in myself.

Rachael asked me to be her wedding photographer three times before I agreed. I tried to get her to hire someone else, I really did. I told her I had never photographed a wedding before. But she insisted that she really liked my photos and that her and Tim would really like me to take the job. So after some convincing, I agreed. I am super excited but also super nervous. Their wedding will be in Oxford next April and I’ll definitely be doing a lot more reading, practicing and preparing until then.

We got together recently to discuss some wedding details and we also took some pre-wedding photos in Richmond park. It was late in the day and so nice and quiet, apart from Rachael and I sneezing and sniffling as we both suffer from hay fever. 🙂 Here are some of their engagement photos, next is the wedding!

4 Comments on “Engagement session: R + T

Leave a Reply

