Wedding: Rachael & Tim

I have been asked to photograph a wedding a few times before. I always politely declined and recommended other photographers. Until Rachael. Rachael just wouldn’t take no for an answer. She said she liked my photography and she believed I would do a good job. Being the perfectionist that I am, I wanted to learn more, be better by the time I photographed my first wedding. I am so glad Rachael pushed me as I would probably wait forever – let’s face it, there is always more to learn.

It was a glorious day this past Saturday, April 18th. Oxford was sunlit from dawn till sunset and the entire day went as smoothly as a wedding can possibly go. I met Rachael at the Vanbrugh House Hotel where she was getting ready with the help of her bridesmaids and her mum. The wedding was held just a short walk away at Hertford College where Rachael studied for her undergraduate degree. I feel very privileged to have photographed a ceremony in one of Oxford University college chapels as only their graduates are allowed to get married there.

After a beautiful ceremony, celebratory drinks and some photos at the college, we headed over to the reception venue at Cherwell Boathouse. The bride and groom took a less conventional means of getting there – they punted down the river. I was super impressed with Tim’s punting skills as he got his bride safely to the boathouse and it certainly made for a spectacular entrance. Later, after speeches and the afternoon tea, guests also had time to enjoy some down time punting and basking in the sun by the river. The party carried on with a fun quiz, an evening barbecue, the first dance (for which the groom changed into a kilt) and a ceilidh. This was the point when I said good bye but I can imagine the party continued for a while afterwards.

I am so grateful to Rachael and Tim for having me along for the day. Not only was it an unforgettable experience and a great learning curve, it was also incredibly beautiful and fun. Rachael and Tim, I wish you all the happiness in the world and a fabulous honeymoon in the Far East.

5 Comments on “Wedding: Rachael & Tim

  1. Oh Maja!! These are truly beautiful pictures. You did an exceptional job & im sure they are very pleased. You are such an inspiration!!

    • Thank you so much Tanaka! They are indeed very happy with the photos and I now cannot wait to do the next wedding. 🙂

  2. So well done, Maja! Of course they are happy about the pictures!!
    Oh, I would love to sit down with you for a cuppa to hear more on the day and how it all went…
    But for now – did you bring and use both cameras? How did that go? How do you like your new “baby”?

    • Thank you! I would love nothing more than to sit down with you and catch up! I will try and put together an email soon. And I really believe we’ll come visit Stockholm one day and hopefully meet up with you.
      Yes, I had both my cameras, I got myself a nice shoulder strap and I strapped each camera on one side which seemed to work well. I had a 35mm lens on the 5D camera and the 85mm on the 7D for close ups. I did, however, take most photos with the 5D and 35mm lens, I just love that combo. The new camera is great, I love it!

      • I was really wondering how these shoulder straps work and consider buying one for myself. For the last wedding I also had two cameras packed but (and on me) but also used mainly one (the 6D). Later on, I regretted having used the 550D for some pictures because you could really see the difference in quality. Full frame is full frame ;-). Looking forward to that email and will try to write to you, too!

Leave a Reply

