School’s out!

This past Tuesday my big boy completed his first year at school. It has been a year full of learning – for me just as much as for him. He has made our transition to school parents very easy and smooth by embracing his new status with excitment and enthusiasm, much like he embraces everything else. There was not a single day this past school year that he didn’t zealously get ready for school and run into the classroom with a grin and too fast for me to plant a kiss on his cheek. He didn’t know a single person when he started and yet within days he had a classroom full of friends. To say that he adjusted well would be an understatement.

For me, it was quite a learning curve. Partly, because it was my first year as a school mum and partly because I didn’t attend school in England and I found a few things quite novel. As Samuel learnt to read English, in a way, so did I. Since I was well able to read by the time I learnt English as a teenager, I found it quite daunting to help Samuel do both at the same time. It sure is a lot easier to learn how to read Slovenian compared to English.

With a school schedule to follow, our mornings became a lot more rushed, breakfasts half eaten, me getting ready between each two spoons of cereal that I fed David. Oh, the dreaded rainy mornings when we all needed rain jackets and wellies and umbrellas and our walk to school took twice as long. Still, the year went by really quickly, especially after winter rolled by. His energy supply seems limitless but I could tell in the past few weeks that Samuel was ready for a long break. And so was I. Despite our house now being extra loud and busy with big brother at home, it is so wonderful to slowly ease out of bed in the morning and serve breakfast without worrying that everyone is still in their PJs.

The photos posted here really don’t have anything to do with this past year at school but I haven’t posted any personal photos in a while. Now that I am a lot busier with photographing clients, I just don’t have as much zeal or energy to lug my big camera around when I go out with my kids. And I think they really appreciate that. 🙂 Yesterday we visited a lavender farm near by and I threw my camera bag in the car at the last minute, thinking it could be a good opportunity to grab a few portraits. I thought that kids won’t mind as I haven’t taken their photos in some time but Lara told me after the first two photos I took of her: “Mummy, that’s enought photos for today.” Hmmm, ok then. Thankfully, David is still pretty unaware of the camera apart for all the awesome buttons that he’d love to play with. When he starts displaying the photographer’s child syndrome we’ll just have to have another baby. 😀

In a few days we’ll be off to Slovenia and Croatia for a few weeks and we’re all looking forward to it. While we’re that side, I’ll be photographing another wedding and it promises to be a beautiful event at a beautiful location. So along with some of our holiday photos, I will have other exciting things to share when we’re back. I am also currently working on a new website and I am hoping to have it live by the end of the summer. I can’t wait to show it to you!

Anyway, here are my three pickles at the lavender farm. Surprisingly, we all came home unscathed, considering how zealously David kept poking all the bumblebees.

Leave a Reply

